top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea-Anne Calder

The USWNT Heads To Australia and New Zealand

Updated: Jun 23, 2023

The 23-player squad representing the United States women's national soccer team at the FIFA Women's World Cup was announced today, where the reigning World Champions will look to defend their title and become the first nation in history to win the tournament for a third consecutive time.

The tournament will take place from July 20 to Aug. 20 in Australia and New Zealand.

The USWNT celebrates a goal against Germany during a match at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey, Nov. 13, 2022. Photo by Nala Burton for WSX.

A new cycle is underway for the U.S. and there are fresh faces looking to make their mark on the international stage. The United States will be without captain Becky Sauerbrunn, Mallory Swanson, Catarina Macario, Christen Press, and Samantha Mewis due to injuries. However, with obstacles comes another opportunity and the United States will do what they do best – call up the next best player.

Depth in every position has always been one of the USWNT's biggest assets and this summer will be no different. Fans across the globe will have a chance to witness generational talents perform on the biggest stage and perhaps identify the next face of U.S. Soccer. Players like Sophia Smith, Trinity Rodman, and Ashley Sanchez will have the world at their feet as they participate in their first major tournament at the senior level.

One player in particular, Savannah DeMelo is expected to take the world by surprise as she looks to earn her first senior cap for her country. In only her second year as a professional, the crafty DeMelo has become one of the best creative attacking players in the National Women's Soccer League, recently earning May Player of the Month. Her tremendous club form earned her a spot on a talented U.S. squad, where she will partner up with former U-20 World Cup teammate, Sanchez, in the midfield.

As these are exciting times for a new generation to introduce themselves to the world, fans can still expect to see legendary veterans Alex Morgan, Crystal Dunn, Kelley O’Hara, Alyssa Naeher, and Julie Ertz. Regular starters under Head Coach Vlatko Andonovski, these two-time World Champions know what it is like to play under pressure and win. They not only bring vocal leadership needed to direct a fairly inexperienced team, but also individual brilliance that will help the U.S. potentially lift their historic fifth trophy.

On a parental note, Dunn, Ertz, and Morgan will be competing at the World Cup for the first time as mothers.

Andonovski will open training camp on June 26 in California as the team prepares for their send-off match against Wales on July 9 at 4 p.m. EST.

The Roster


Alyssa Naeher**

Aubrey Kingsbury

Casey Murphy


Alana Cook

Crystal Dunn*

Emily Fox

Emily Sonnett*

Kelley O'Hara***

Naomi Girma

Sofia Huerta


Andi Sullivan

Ashley Sanchez

Julie Ertz**

Kristie Mewis****

Lindsey Horan*

Rose Lavelle*

Savannah DeMelo


Alex Morgan***

Alyssa Thompson

Lynn Williams****

Megan Rapinoe***

Sophia Smith

Trinity Rodman

* Second World Cup, 2015 & 2019 Champion, 2020 Olympic Bronze Medalist

** Third World Cup, 2015 & 2019 Champion, 2020 Olympic Bronze Medalist

*** Fourth World Cup, 2015 & 2019 Champion, 2020 Olympic Bronze Medalist

**** 2020 Olympic Bronze Medalist

Savannah DeMelo is the only player uncapped with the senior national team on this roster.

When to Watch

The U.S. will compete against the Netherlands, Vietnam, and Portugal in Group E. They enter the tournament as the No. 1 ranked team in the world, with the Netherlands at No. 9, Vietnam at No. 32, and Portugal at No. 21. The top two teams of the group will move on to the Round of 16. All games will be available to watch on Fox and Peacock (Spanish).

U.S. vs. Vietnam – July 21, 9 p.m. EST

(Eden Park, NZ)

U.S. vs Netherlands – July 26, 9 p.m. EST

(Wellington Regional Stadium, NZ)

U.S. vs Portugal – Aug. 1, 3 a.m. EST

(Eden Park, NZ)


bottom of page