top of page
  • Writer's pictureMK Ferry

The Rugby Rundown

The 2021 Rugby World Cup, being played in 2022 kicked off on October 7, 2022 at 9:15 PM (EST). The RWC has three different pools consisting of 12 teams from all over the world. Pool A includes defending champions and hosts New Zealand, Australia, Wales, and Scotland. Pool B welcomes Canada, the United States, Italy, and Japan. Pool C has the previous runner ups and #1 ranked England, France, South Africa, and Fiji. 

Pool C kicked off first with a match between South Africa and France and another match between Fiji and England on Friday, October 7. France beat South Africa 40-5 while England beat Fiji 84-19.

Claudia Macdonald faces the camera smiling while she hugs teammate Abby Dow
Claudia Macdonald hugging teammate Abby Dow. Photo courtesy of @EnglandRugby on Twitter

Pool A began play early Saturday morning at 2:15 AM EST with a match between defending champions, New Zealand and neighboring rivals Australia. New Zealand bested Australia 41-17. The second game in Pool A was played by Wales and Scotland on Sunday, October 9. Wales was able to slide past Scotland with a very close 18-15 win. 

Black Ferns player Ruby Tui looking up while the background of the stadium is blurred.
Player of the match, Ruby Tui. Photo courtesy of @BlackFerns on Twitter.

Pool B started off with the United States facing Italy at 7:45 PM EST and Japan playing Canada at 10:15 PM EST on Sunday, October 8. Italy defeated the United States 22-10 and Canada defeated Japan 41-5.

The group stage continue Friday October, 14, with Scotland playing against Australia at 10 PM EST followed by four games on Saturday October 15. The full schedule can be found here and viewed on Peacock.

How the teams rank before the RWC begins: 

  1. England 

  2. New Zealand 

  3. Canada

  4. France 

  5. Italy

  6. USA

  7. Australia 

     9.   Wales 

    10.  Scotland

    11.  South Africa 

    13.  Japan 

      21.  Fiji


bottom of page